Difference Between South-west and North-east Monsoon

Difference Between South-west and North-east Monsoon:

The following are the points of difference between South-west and North-east Monsoon.

South-west MonsoonNorth-east Monsoon
The winds blowing from South-west to North-east direction during the months of June to September in India are called South-west Monsoon winds.The winds blowing in India from North-east to South-west direction during the period from December to February constitute the North-east Monsoon winds.
During the period of these winds, a low-pressure region has become established in the Northern Plains of the country. Hence they move from the south-west towards the low-pressure region.North-east Monsoon winds blow from the high-pressure region towards the seas where low pressure exists these days.
They come from the tropical seas and oceans. Hence they are moisture-laden and hot.They blow from land. Hence they are dry and cold.
These winds cause 75 to 90% of the total annual rainfall during the season of the South-west Monsoon.They absorb moisture passing over the Bay of Bengal and cause rainfall on the Tamil Nadu coast during winter.
The South-west Monsoon has two branches- The Arabian Sea branch and the Bay of Bengal branch.They do not have branches, Western disturbances also occur during this season. But their occurrence is based on different factors.
Rainy days, soothing winds and overcast skies are the characteristic features of the South-west Monsoon.Most of the country experiences clear skies, low temperature. A gentle breeze and rainless fine weather make the season very healthy.

Sources of IrrigationThe Non-Cooperation Movement (1920-22)
Climates of the WorldThe Government of India Act 1935
Indian AgricultureLegacy of 19th Century– NIOS

Comments (No)

Leave a Reply