Modern Indian History GK For CTET Exam

Modern Indian History GK For CTET Exam:

1. Who among the following introduced the Subsidiary Alliance System?
(A) Lord Dalhousie
(B) Lord Wellesley
(C) Lord Bentinck
(D) Lord Canning

Ans: Lord Wellesley (B)

2. In which year did Dalhousie become Governor-General of India?
(A) 1858
(B) 1848
(C) 1838
(D) 1849

Ans: 1848 (B)

3. Sister Nivedita was a disciple of________
(A) Annie Besant
(B) Swami Vivekananda
(C) Ramakrishna Paramhans
(D) Henry Vivian Derozio

Ans: Swami Vivekananda (B)

4. Who was associated with the ‘Shuddhi Movement’?
(A) D.V. Karve
(B) Jyotiba Phule
(C) Madan Mohan Malviya
(D) Dayanand Saraswati

Ans: Dayanand Saraswati (D)

5. Who is known as the ‘Father of Indian Unrest’?
(A) Bhagat Singh
(B) Subash Chandra Bose
(C) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(D) Veer Savarkar

Ans: Bal Gangadhar Tilak (C)

6. When was Annie Besant elected as President of the Indian National Congress?
(A) 1914
(B) 1915
(C) 1916
(D) 1917

Ans: 1917 (D)

7. Who among the following is a Moderate Leader?
(A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(B) Bhagat Singh
(C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(D) Bipin Chandra Pal

Ans: Gopal Krishna Gokhale (C)

8. Who was the Viceroy of India from 1899 to 1905?
(A) Curzon
(B) Ripon
(C) Minto II
(D) Dufferin

Ans: Curzon (A)

9. When did the Partition of Bengal come into effect?
(A) 16 October 1905
(B) 16 November 1905
(C) 16 December 1905
(D) 16 January 1905

Ans: 16 October 1905 (A)

10. In which city did Gandhiji form the Satyagraha Sabha?
(A) Delhi
(B) Bombay
(C) Agra
(D) Gwalior

Ans: Bombay (B)

11. Who was the Governor-General at the time of the revolt of 1857?
(A) Lord Irwin
(B) Lord Cornwallis
(C) Lord Canning
(D) Lord Lytton

Ans: Lord Canning (C)

12. In which year was the title of Governor General changed to Viceroy?
(A) 1857
(B) 1856
(C) 1859
(D) 1858

Ans: 1858 (D)

13. How many miles did Gandhiji cover during the Dandi March?
(A) 200
(B) 250
(C) 260
(D) 240

Ans: 240 (D)

14. Who founded Fort William College for the training of Civil Servants?
(A) Lord Canning
(B) Lord Wellesley
(C) Lord Dalhousie
(D) Lord Dufferin

Ans: Lord Wellesley (B)

15. The Calcutta Hindu College was founded by Raja Rammohan Roy and David Hare in the year________
(A) 1822
(B) 1813
(C) 1817
(D) 1819

Ans: 1817 (C)

16. Who was known as ‘Andhra Kesari’?
(A) Alluri Sitarama Raju
(B) Uyyalawada Narasimha Reddy
(C) Tanguturi Prakasam
(D) Gottipati Brahmaiah

Ans: Tanguturi Prakasam (C)

17. The ‘Chauri Chaura’ incident took place on_______
(A) 4 March, 1922
(B) 4 February, 1922
(C) 4January 1922
(D) 4 April 1922

Ans: 4 February, 1922 (B)

18. The Civil Disobedience Movement lasted from______
(A) 1930 to 1934
(B) 1940 to 1943
(C) 1920 to 1922
(D) 1942 to 1945

Ans: 1930 to 1934 (A)

19. The demand for ‘Purna Swaraj’ was raised on the banks of the river______
(A) Satluj
(B) Ravi
(C) Chenab
(D) Sindhu

Ans: Ravi (B)

20. Who was the President of the Indian National Congress at the historic Lahore Session of 1929?
(A) Surendranath Banerjee
(B) Subash Chandra Bose
(C) Pheroz Shah Mehta
(D) Jawaharlal Nehru

Ans: Jwawharlal Nehru (D)

21. When was Sati Pratha abolished?
(A) 1828
(B) 1829
(C) 1826
(D) 1827

Ans: 1829 (B)

22. Who is known as the grand old man of India?
(A) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(B) A.O. Hume
(C) Mahatma Gandhi
(D) Dadabhai Naoroji

Ans: Dadabhai Naoroji (D)

23. When was Bhagat Singh hanged?
(A) 23 March 1931
(B) 24 March 1931
(C) 24 January 1931
(D) 2 February 1932

Ans: 23 March 1931 (A)

24. Who was the President of All India National Congress, Haripura Session of 1938?
(A) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
(B) Subhash Chandra Bose
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru
(D) Mahatma Gandhi

Ans: Subhash Chandra Bose (B)

25. Who among the following was NOT martyred in the Revolt of 1857?
(A) Rani Laxmibai
(B) Mangal Pandey
(C) Tatya Tope
(D) Bahadur Shah II

Ans: Bahadur Shah II (D)

26. In which city was the resolution of the Quit India was passed?
(A) Agra
(B) Ahmedabad
(C) Bombay
(D) Delhi

Ans: Bombay (C)

27. _______ was the British Governor-General during the Second-Anglo Mysore war.
(A) Lord Warren Hastings
(B) Lord Lytton
(C) Lord Ripon
(D) Lord Wellesley

Ans: Lord Warren Hastings (A)

28. When did the Indian National Congress demand ‘Purna Swaraj’?
(A) 1929
(B) 1942
(C) 1947
(D) 1928

Ans: 1929 (A)

29. The Revolt of Jhansi was suppressed by_________
(A) TR Holmes
(B) Hugh Rose
(C) John Nicholson
(D) Colin Campbell

Ans: Hugh Rose (B)

30. What is called as Magna Carta of English Education in India?
(A) Hartog Committee Report
(B) Minutes on Indian Education by Lord Macaulay
(C) The Charter Act of 1833
(D) Wood’s Despatch

Ans: Wood’s Despatch (D)

31. Who described Gandhiji’s march to Dandi as ‘Like the historic march of Ramchandra to Lanka, the march of Gandhi will be memorable?
(A) Lala Lajpatrai
(B) Motilal Nehru
(C) Vinoba Bhave
(D) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Ans: Motilal Nehru (B)

32. Who is remembered for the Rampa Rebellion of 1922-24?
(A) Pingali Venkayya
(B) Kalluri Chandramouli
(C) Alluri Sitarama Raju
(D) Gottipati Brahmaiah

Ans: Alluri Sitarama Raju (B)

33. The ‘Go back Simon Commission’ slogan by Tanguturi Prakasam was given on_______
(A) 3 February 1928
(B) 3 June 1928
(C) 3 October 1928
(D) 3 December 1928

Ans: 3 February 1928 (A)

34. What is the name of the Journal started by Annie Besant?
(A) Indian
(B) The India
(C) New India
(D) Independent India

Ans: New India (C)

35. Who was the first Indian to become a member of the British Parliament?
(A) Dadabhai Naoroji
(B) D.N. Vacha
(C) W.C. Banerjee
(D) Subhash Chandra Bose

Ans: Dadabhai Naoroji (A)

36. Which viceroy appointed the ‘Hunter Commission’?
(A) Lord Ripon
(B) Lord Curzon
(C) Lord Irwin
(D) Lord Lytton

Ans: Lord Ripon (A)

GK Compilation from UPSC CISF Exam 2018Revolt Of 1857
GK Compilation from UPSC CISF Exam 2019Early Indian Nationalism
CDS Exam 2018, Solved (I)Causes For The Rise Of Extremism

Comments (No)

Leave a Reply