History GK From IAS Exam 2001

History GK From IAS Exam 2001:

1. Under the Permanent Settlement, 1793, the Zamindars are required to issue pattas to the farmers which were not issued by many of the Zamindars. The reason was
(A) the Zamindars were trusted by the farmers
(B) there were no officials check upon the Zamindars
(C) it was the responsibility of the British government
(D) the farmers were not interested in getting pattas

Ans: there were no officials check upon the Zamindars (B)

2. Who amongst the following Englishmen, first translated Bhagavad-Gita into English?
(A) William Jones
(B) Charles Wilkins
(C) Alexander Cunningham
(D) John Marshall

Ans: Charles Wilkins (B)

3. Consider the following statements:

(1) Arya Samaj was founded in 1835

(2) Lala Lajpat Rai opposed the appeal of Arya Samaj to the authority of Vedas in support of its social reform programme

(3) Under Keshab Chandra Sen, the Brahmo Samaj campaigned for women’s education

(4) Vinoba Bhave founded the Sarvodya Samaj to work among refugees

Which of these statements are correct?
(A) 1 and 2
(B) 2 and 3
(C) 2 and 4
(D) 3 and 4

Ans: 3 and 4 (D)

4. Who among the following Indian ruler’s established embassies in foreign countries on modern lines?
(A) Haider Ali
(B) Mir Qasim
(C) Shah Alam II
(D) Tipu Sultan

Ans: Tipu Sultan (D)

5. Who among the following organized the famous Chittagong Armoury raid?
(A) Laxmi Sehgal
(B) Surya Sen
(C) Batukeshwar Datta
(D) J.M.Sengupta

Ans: Surya Sen (B)

6. A London branch of the All India Muslim League was established in 1908 under the presidency of
(A) Aga Khan
(B) Ameer Ali
(C) Liaquat Ali Khan
(D) M.A.Jinnah

Ans: Ameer Ali (B)

7. Who among the following leaders proposed to adopt Complete Independence as the goal of the Congress in the Ahmedabad session of 1920?
(A) Abul Kalam Azad
(B) Hasrat Mohani
(C) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(D) Mohandas Karamachand Gandhi

Ans: Hasrat Mohani (B)

8. The Hunter Commission was appointed after the
(A) Black-hole incident
(B) Jallianwalla Bagh Massacre
(C) Uprising of 1857
(D) Partition of Bengal

Ans: Jallianwalla Bagh Massacre (B)

9. Who among the following was the President of the All India State’s People’s Conference in 1939?
(A) Jaya Prakash Narayan
(B) Sheikh Abdullah
(C) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(D) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Ans: Jawahar Lal Nehru (C)

10. Which one of the following animals was not represented seals and terracotta art of the Harappan Culture?
(A) Cow
(B) Elephant
(C) Rhinoceros
(D) Tiger

Ans: Cow (A)

11. Who among the following presided over the Buddhist Council held during the reign of Kanishka at Kashmir?
(A) Parsva
(B) Nagarjuna
(C) Sudraka
(D) Vasumitra

Ans: Vasumitra (D)

12. Hoysala monuments are found in
(A) Hampi and Hosper
(B) Halebidu and Belur
(C) Mysore and Bangalore
(D) Sringeri and Dharwar

Ans: Halebidu and Belur (B)

13. Which one of the following pairs is correctly matched?
(A) The Harappan Civilization- Painted Greyware
(B) The Kushans- Gandhara School of Art
(C) The Mughals- Ajanta Paintings
(D) The Marathas- Pahari School of Painting

Ans: The Kushans- Gandhara School of Art (B)

14. Which one of the Chola King conquered Ceylon?
(A) Aditya-I
(B) Rajaraja-I
(C) Rajendra
(D) Vijayalaya

Ans: Rajendra (C)

15. Mongols under Chengiz Khan invaded India during the reign of
(A) Balban
(B) Firoz Tughlaq
(C) Iltutmish
(D) Muhammad Bin Tughlaq

Ans: Iltutmish (C)

16. Which among the following ports was called Babul Makka (Gate of Makka) during the Mughal period?
(A) Calicut
(B) Broach
(C) Cambay
(D) Surat

Ans: Surat (D)

17. Which of the following pairs is correctly matched?
(A) Dewan-i-Bandagani- Tughlaq
(B) Dewan-i-Mustakhraj- Balban
(C) Dewan-i-Kohi- Alauddin Khilji
(D) Dewan-i-Arz- Muhammad Tughlaq

Ans: Dewan-i-Bandagani- Tughlaq (A)

18. In which one of the following cities is the Lingaraja Temple located?
(A) Bhubaneswar
(B) Bijapur
(C) Kolkata
(D) Shravananbelagola

Ans: Bhubaneswar (A)

19. Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the lists

List-I (Bhakti Saint)List-II (Profession)
(A) Namdev(1) Barber
(B) Kabir(2) Weaver
(C) Ravidas(3) Tailor
(D) Sena(4) Cobbler

(A) A-2; B-3; C-1; D-4
(B) A-3; B-2; C-4; D-1
(C) A-3; B-2; C-1; D-4
(D) A-2; B-3; C-4; D-1

Ans: A-3; B-2; C-4; D-1 (B)

20. The practice of military governorship was first introduced in India by the
(A) Greeks
(B) Shakas
(C) Parthians
(D) Mughals

Ans: Greeks (A)

Comments (No)

Leave a Reply