Modern Indian History GK Part 2

Modern Indian History GK Part 2:

  • Who was the guiding spirit of the Ghadar Party Movement- Lala Hardayal.
  • Who formed the Indian Independence League in California in 1907- Taraknath Das.
  • What was the key expression in Montagu’s Declaration, 1917- Responsible Government.
  • Who founded the Communist Party of India in Tashkent in October 1920- M.N.Roy.
  • Which is called the Magna Carta of English Education in India- Wood’s Dispatch (1854).
  • The Bengal Gazette or the Calcutta General Advertiser was the first newspaper in India published in 1780 by- James Augustus Hicky.
  • Whose government passed the controversial Vernacular Press Act in 1878- Lord Lyton’s Government.
  • At Kanpur, the leader of the Revolt of 1857 was- Nana Sahib.
  • The first modern trade union was founded in India by- B.P.Wadia.
  • Who was the First President of the All-India Trade Union Congress founded in 1920 at Bombay- Lala Lajpat Rai.
  • Sir Pethick Lawrence who came as a member of the Cabinet Commission was- Secretary of State for India.
  • In 1639, who established the city of Madras and constructed the Fort St. George- Francis Day.
  • Who was the first Governor-General of India- Lord William Bentinck.
  • Which act ended the monopoly of East India Company from tea trade and trade with China- Charter Act of 1833.
  • Who introduced Ryotwari Settlement in the Madras Presidency- Sir Thomas Munro.
  • Who founded the Nav Javan Sabha at Lahore in 1925- Bhagat Singh.
  • Who is the author of the Novel Anandmath- Bankim Chandra Chatterjee.
  • Who is the author of the book “How India Wrought for Freedom”- Annie Besant.
  • To propagate the monotheistic doctrine of Hindu scriptures, Raja Ram Mohan Roy founded the- Atmiya Sabha (1815-19).
  • Who formed a ‘Cow Protection Association’ in 1882- Arya Samaj.
  • Narendra Nath Dutta is popularly known as- Swami Vivekananda.
  • Who is the author of Satyarth Prakash- Swami Dayanand Saraswati.
  • Which social reformer efforts responsible for the passing of the Widow Remarriage Act, 1856- Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar.
  • Santhal Rebellion (1855-56) in the Rajmahal hill area led by- Sidhu and Kanhu.
  • Who launched the Aravipuram Movement in 1888- Sri Narayana Guru.
  • The government would establish a ‘War Advisory Council’ was the provision of- August Offer (1940).
  • Hindu Mahasabha was formed at the Haridwar Kumbh Mela in 1915 by- Madan Mohan Malaviya.
  • The non-cooperation movement was suspended by Gandhi in February 1922 due to a violent incident at- Chauri Chaura.
  • Karachi Session (1931) of the Indian National Congress is known for its resolution on- Fundamental Rights & National Economic Programme.
  • Who presided over the Karachi Session of INC 1931- Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel.
  • The East India Association was formed in London in 1866 by- Dadabhai Naoroji.
  • Deccan Riots (1875) at Poona and Ahmadnagar was against whom- Moneylenders.
  • Aurobindo Ghosh was brilliantly defended in the Alipur Conspiracy case by- Chittaranjan Das.
  • Who gave the title of Rani to the Naga woman leader Gaidinliu- Jawahar Lal Nehru.
  • A Public Service Commission was established in India for the first time by- The Government of India Act, 1919.
  • Har Bilas Sarda was the author of an Act (popularly known as Sarda Act), which was- Child Marriage Restraint Act, 1929.
  • Congress criticized the Harcourt Butler Committee Report because it stressed- the preservation of Princely States through British Paramountcy.
No Responses to “Modern Indian History GK Part 2”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: