Sayyid & Lodhi Dynasty

Sayyid Dynasty (1414-1451):

  • After the death of Nasir-ud-din Mahmud, Daulat Khan Lodi became the Sultan, but was defeated by Khizr Khan(1414-1421who was Timur’s Viceroy of Multan & Dipalpur & thus was founded the Sayyid dynasty.
  • Khizr Khan claimed his descent from the blood line of prophet Mohammad.
  • Mubarak Shah (1421-1434) was the protagonist of Yahya-bin-Ahmad Sirhindi’s, Tarikh-i-Mubarak Shahi. He was killed by his own nobles.
  • Alam Shah (1443-1451) throne was seized by Bahlul Lodi & permitted alam to retain only his estate of Badaun.

Lodhi Dynasty (1451-1526):

Bahlul Lodhi (1451-1489):

  • The first Afghan to rule India.
  • He defeated the Sharqi Sultan’s attempt to seize Delhi & annexed the Sharqi Kingdom.

Sikander Lodhi (1489-1517):

  • Introduced a new measurement yard called Ghaz-i-Sikandari.
  • Founded the city of Agra in 1504.
  • Wrote Persian verses under the name ‘Gulrukhi‘.

Ibrahim Lodhi (1517-1526):

  • Babur entered Punjab, received by Daulat Khan Lodhi & Alam Khan Lodhi (brother of Sikander Lodhi) in his camp, occupied Lahore & proceed to Delhi through Sunam & Samana.
  • He was defeated by Babur (First Battle of Panipat, 1526).
  • First Sultan who killed on Battlefield.
Raja Ram Mohan Roy & Brahmo SamajSufism In India
Swami Dayanand Saraswati & Arya SamajThe Bhakti Movement
Swami Vivekananda & Ramakrishna MissionMaratha Kingdom Administration
Theosophical Society & Annie BesantHaider Ali and Tipu Sultan

Comments (No)

Leave a Reply