Modern Indian History GK Part 1

Modern Indian History GK Part 1:

  • Who started the journal Bahishkrit Bharat- B.R. Ambedkar.
  • Who was the ‘Grand Old Man of India’ and was also the author of the book ‘Poverty and un-British rule in India’ – Dada Bhai Naoroji.
  • Who was the founder of the Banaras Sanskrit College in 1791- Jonathan Duncan.
  • The ryotwari settlement was primarily introduced by the British government in – Madras and Bombay Presidencies.
  • Who laid the foundation of the independence of Hyderabad by a military victory in 1724- Nizam-ul-Mulk.
  • Which act introduced ‘Dyarchy’ in the provinces- The Government of India Act, 1919.
  • Who was the Governor-General of India during the Revolt of 1857- Lord Canning.
  • Who is called as ‘Father of Local Self Government’ and introduced it in 1882- Lord Ripon.
  • Who led the famous Chittagong Armoury Raid in 1930- Surya Sen.
  • Who first opined Revolt of 1857 as the first ‘Indian War of Independence’- V. D. Savarkar.
  • Bankim Chandra Chatterjee’s novel ‘Anandmath’ was written in the backdrop of which important rebellion- Sanyasi Rebellion.
  • Who formed the Indian National Army also known as Azad Hind Fauj in 1942- Captain Mohan Singh.
  • Who was the founder of Bharat Mata Society and launched a journal (Peshwa)- Ajit Singh.
  • Subhas Chandra Bose was re-elected President of the Congress at the Tripuri Session in 1939, by defeating- Dr. Pattabhi Sitaramayya.
  • After the Surat Split in 1907, the second split in the Congress took place in 1918 on the issue of- Montagu Declaration.
  • Right Means and Right Ends as a twin policy of Ram Rajya was laid down by- Mahatma Gandhi.
  • Which governor-general was responsible for passing the famous regulation of 1829 which declared sati illegal and punishable by courts- Lord William Bentick.
  • Who earned the title ‘Frontier Gandhi’ and founded the ‘Khudai Khidmatgar’ (Servants of God) organization in 1929- Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan.
  • The brain behind the bomb attack on Viceroy Lord Hardinge at Chandni Chowk, Delhi in December 1912, was- Rasbehari Bose.
  • Mahatma Gandhi presided over the Annual session of Congress only once at- Belgaum 1924.
  • The English misusing Dastak (free permit) based on the Mughal Firamn, issued to them in 1717 by- Farrukhysiyar.
  • The Third Anglo-Mysore War (1790-1792) ended with the treaty of- Srirangapattinam between Tipu Sultan and- Lord Cornwallis.
  • Who became the first woman President of Congress Calcutta Session 1917 and also associated with the newspaper ‘New India’ and ‘Commonweal’- Mrs. Annie Besant.
  • Which act ended the monopoly of East India Company from tea trade and trade with china- Charter Act of 1833.
  • Who is popularly known as ‘Lokahitawadi’- Gopal Hari Deshmukh.
  • Who was the founder of Satya Shodhak Samaj (1873) and the author of two critical works i.e. Ghulamgiri and Sarvajnik Satyadharma Pustak- Jyotiba Phule.
  • The Ilbert Bill controversy (1883) associated with- the right of Indian Judges and Magistrates to try Europeans.
  • Which social reformer was popularly called as ‘Periyar’- E. V. Ramaswamy Naicker.
  • Who threw a challenge to the Indian leaders to prepare a constitution (1928) to which all parties would agree- Lord Birkenhead.
  • A permanent settlement or Zamindari System was introduced in 1793 by Lord Cornwallis in- Bengal, Bihar & Orissa.
  • The most important feature of the Government of India Act 1935 was- Provincial Autonomy.
  • In which Round Table conference, Gandhi participated as a member of the Indian National Congress- Second Round Table conference.
  • Who was the guiding spirit of the Ghadar Party Movement- Lala Hardayal.
  • Which act grants a separate electorate to the Muslims- The Indian Council Act 1909.
  • Congress Socialist Party was formed in 1934 at Bombay by- Acharya Narendra Dev, Jai Prakash Narayan & Meenu Masani.
  • The chief architect of the Prarthana Samaj in Maharashtra was- M.G. Ranade.
  • Who founded the Asiatic Society of Bengal (1784)- Sir William Jones.
  • The Calcutta Madarsa was established in 1781 by- Warren Hastings.
  • Who started the Fort William College in Calcutta in 1800 to teach Urdu and Hindi to English Civil Servants of the company- Lord Wellesley.
  • Which Governor-General is famous for ‘Doctrine of Lapse’ policy- Lord Dalhousie.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *